Posted by: lilacsandcupcakes | September 6, 2011

“It’s a Dilly”

As a kid I LOVED ice cream! And still do! My favorite place to go was Dairy Queen.

Several weeks ago while in Georgia, I actually went inside a DQ and was re-introduced to an old friend of mine the “Dilly Bar”. It looks like an large chocolate lollipop, with a swirl on the front and vanilla ice cream inside and to say that I was thrilled would be an understatement. Just unwrapping it from it’s updated plain cellophone wrapper took me back to a favorite time in my life – Summer in Southern California. It reminded me of a simpler time where all I cared about was swimming pools, sunshine, tans, and ice cream! (truthfully I still feel that way)

I was so thrilled that I had re-discovered an old friend that I decided to go again to DQ here in MO and get that Dill Bar feeling again. This time to my surprise – it came in a plain paper wrapper – I didn’t think anything came in a paper wrapper any longer – I was so thrilled that I took a photo and decided it was something I wanted to share – notice I didn’t offer to share my ice cream with anyone – just the empty wrapper!

Now I am sure that there is something that takes you back to a simpler time in your life – this was mine and it came in a plain paper wrapper 🙂 and “It’s a Dilly”

Responses

  1. Mine is not something you can buy in a store. My thing that takes me back to a simpler time in my life is the sound of my parents’ attic fan. That squeaky hum brings me back every single time I hear it. Now…pass me your ice cream bar, I want a bite!


Leave a Reply

Categories

