Posted by: lilacsandcupcakes | June 9, 2011

Love Letters from God!

Love Letter from God,

 I wanted to share this love letter from God with you.

When I was a child in the 50’s my favorite doll was Barbie the teenage model – she had the cutest clothes and so many high heel shoes (I am sure that is where my love for fashion and shoes came from:)

On one of the many cross-country trips in a greyhound bus, that my Mom took me on, I had my Barbie and her clothes all packed in my Barbie case, I always took her everywhere with me, but when we left the bus station I did not have my case.  She was gone and because at that time in my life we did not have money to replace her, so I went without.

Fast forward to my 30’s and I was in one of my favorite places an Antiques store and I walked by a glass case and there I saw my childhood love Barbie.  There were ponytails and bubble cuts all in the different hair colors along with Ken and her many outfits and of course her SHOES:). As I stood there tears started to stream down my face, I know that the other customers thought I was crazy, but my childhood memories flooded over me at that moment and I was a child again.

I am sure you are wondering by now how does this involve God, well again sadly at that time in my life I could not afford the dolls of my childhood so once again I did without.  I did not tell anyone about that day or my experience, but God knew and cared about my tears.

I had forgotten that day until one day a friend of mine handed me a BIG box and it was not my birthday but they were always surprising me with gifts, well inside of that box was a black Barbie case, Barbie and Ken dolls along with Barbie clothes and a pair of her open toe black shoes, again the tears fell but this time they were tears of joy – God had laid it on her heart to give me these dolls.  Only God knew the secret desire of my heart and HE loved me so much that he sent this love letter to me.  

If you think that God does not care about the “little things” in your life you are so wrong – HE cares so much that he has numbered the hair on your head.

Matthew 10:29-31
New King James Version (NKJV)
29 Are not two sparrows sold for a copper coin? And not one of them falls to the ground apart from your Father’s will. 30 But the very hairs of your head are all numbered. 31 Do not fear therefore; you are of more value than many sparrows.

Since that time I have received many “love letters” from God  – they are not always “things” most of the time the letters are in the form of people that he has sent into my life who show me what God’s unconditional love is and I can confess that the “letters” make me fall all over again with MY God! 

My prayer is that you do as my friend always says to me “look around for those Love Letters” they are always signed,
I Love You – GOD

Responses

  1. I love this! And I agree – He really does care about “the little things”. I think it’s just as awesome when He does something “little” as when He does something Big. Thanks for this reminder!

  2. I love this!!! I really does care about us and I am learning this everyday!! I love that you finally were reunited with your beloved Barbie. I am imagining you as a little girl with all those barbie shoes and thinking about your kitchen cabinets filled with big girl shoes 🙂

  3. Vickie, thank you for posting your blog on FB. This was wonderful. Here I sit about to cry at the amount of love that God has for each one of us! He cares about every aspect of our lives! Thanks again for being one of the Love Letters in My life! 🙂

  4. Vickie, I enjoyed reading your new blog. I know you have many, many more stories of how tender God has been toward you. Looking forward to reading about those too. We call those “kisses on the forhead” from God. He is a sweet and loving Daddy.


Leave a Reply

Categories

